These Republicans will serve on panels to investigate COVID-19, government 'militarization'

These Republicans will serve on panels to investigate COVID-19, government ‘militarization’

House Speaker Kevin McCarthy (R-Calif.) released the names of Republicans who will serve on two subcommittees as part of the GOP’s promise to launch investigations into the Biden administration.

McCarthy in a tweet Tuesday announced GOP membership on two select subcommittees on the “militarization of the federal government” and the origins of the COVID-19 pandemic.

The House voted along party lines to create the militarization committee earlier this month to investigate ongoing Justice Department investigations. The subcommittee was part of a request list hardliners in the House GOP had for McCarthy to win their support to become president.

McCarthy promised later create the militarization and COVID-19 subcommittees a few days before the president’s vote. Republicans described the militarization subcommittee as “Church-style,” referring to a Senate select committee headed by former Sen. Frank Church (D-Idaho) that looked into the intelligence agencies.

McCarthy said in a letter to fellow Republicans that the subcommittee would expose “the government’s weaponization against our citizens, basically.”

The subcommittee will be led by Rep. Jim Jordan (R-Ohio), who was a close McCarthy supporter during his run for president and serves as chairman of the House Judiciary Committee. McCarthy said earlier this month that Jordan would chair the subcommittee.

The other GOP members of the committee will be Reps. Darrell Issa (Calif.), Thomas Massie (Ky.), Chris Stewart (Utah), Elise Stefanik (NY), Mike Johnson (La.), Chip Roy (Texas), Kelly Armstrong (ND), Greg Steube (Fla.), Dan Bishop (NC), Kat Cammack (Fla.) and Harriet Hageman (Wyo.).

Roy and Bishop withheld their support for McCarthy through more than 10 ballots of the President’s vote before backing him after McCarthy agreed to additional concessions.

McCarthy previously announced last week that Steube will serve on the militarization subcommittee following Steube’s hospitalization following a fall from a 25-foot ladder and multiple “serious” injuries.

Steube has been freed from the hospital on Saturday, but he said he will be “stashed” from Washington, DC to his home in Sarasota, Florida for several weeks. He said he was “looking forward” to joining his colleagues in DC “as soon as possible.”

The subcommittee will also include five Democratic members.

Rep. Brad Wenstrup (R-Ohio) will serve as chair of the COVID-19 committee.

Other members completing the GOP membership will be Reps. Nicole Malliotakis (NY), Mariannette Miller-Meeks (Iowa), Debbie Lesko (Arizona), Michael Cloud (Texas), John Joyce (Pa.), Marjorie Taylor Greene (Ga .), Ronny Jackson (Texas) and Rich McCormick (Ga.).

Cloud was also opposed to McCarthy in most presidential votes until he threw his support behind him in the final polls.

Greene has repeatedly voiced misinformation surrounding the pandemic since its onset in 2020. His personal Twitter account was suspended for violating the platform’s COVID-19 misinformation policies last January, but he has been restored in November as part of several accounts that CEO Elon Musk reinstated after taking over the company.

A Democratic-led House subcommittee published a report on the pandemic last month near the end of the last session of Congress, accusing the Trump administration of undermining the country’s response to the virus.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.